It’s been awhile…

September 29, 2009 at 1:04 pm 6 comments

since I’ve posted on this blog.  We are still very deeply involved in living the allergic life.  In only a few more months our daughter will be tested to see if she has outgrown her current allergies and/or developed any new ones.  We have done our very best to keep her away from anything and everything that contains milk, eggs or peanuts now for 3 years.  We’ve been praying and asking God to allow her to outgrow her allergies for her own sake and for His glory.  Whether He chooses to do that or not, we know that He has a reason for allowing her (and us) to walk this path.  She is a good sport about it, but it never gets easier to tell her ‘you’re allergic to that’ or ‘you can’t have that because it has milk, egg or peanut in it’. In fact, it is getting harder as she gets older.  I would love for her to be allergy-free.  What a drastic change there would be in her life.  The big thing coming up that we will have to face is her Booster Shots for Kindergarten next year. I do not know yet what I will do about that. I don’t trust immunizations to be safe for her because of her allergies, but now it’s time to do more research and determine the ingredients of the shots she will be needing to get to see if I will allow it or not. We’ll see.  That’s the biggie coming up.  I’ll let you know how the decisions will fall.  Any advice? Comments? Concerns I should be thinking about?

Entry filed under: Immunizations, The Journey, The Target.

Hidden Allergens… I Scream, You Scream, We All Scream for…..

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JimmyBean  |  October 1, 2009 at 10:28 am

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    Reply
  • 2. Milli  |  February 19, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    The research is so polarizing- it’s frustrating! Most information “proves” that either all immunizations are bad for everyone all the time or that no immunizations are ever bad for anyone. However, there is a link/correlation between vaccines and certain conditions.

    I used to work at a school for children with special needs. We finally started asking (especially regarding children with Autism) if they were born with special needs or if it had develped after a round of shots. Most of the time the students had changed- in some cases literally overnight- as a result of getting them.

    It’s frustrating to explain that to people whose children suffered no ill effects. I recently heard about a study that suggested a weak immune system will make a child more susceptible to complications. Moments later I heard about a study that concluded a large number doctors fail to diagnose colds in young children. I also heard that scientists have found a dormant gene that can trigger chronic fatigue sydrome. This suggest the same may also be true for other conditions that are effected by the immune system. (I’m wondering whether it’s related to my Fibromyalgia.)

    Should you decide to forgo the shots, there is a form you can fill out that legally exempts you from immunizing your daughter. You have to choose from a preprinted list of reasons- the most common being a religious objection. But this will satisfy any school records’ requirements.
    to hearing
    I don’t envy your position and look forward to finding out what you decide to do. Thanks for your blog, keep up the good work. I so appreciate people who are willing to talk about these issues!
    Mili
    btw- I hope you don’t mind, I posted a link to you on my blog, “Surviving Diet Change.”

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    Amy,
    have you had discussions w/ your dr. about the link between or true concerns about her allergies and vaccines? Would they give you a doctor’s note so you can get a medical waiver on any further vaccines? Just a thought…
    Sarah

    Reply
    • 4. allergyfree  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:18 pm

      Sarah – yes, I have talked with her dr. He gave me a temporary medical exemption on the Varicella (chicken pox) and MMR vacs. This is because I am having her tested for the egg allergy very soon and will know if she has outgrown it. If she has, he suggests her going ahead with the vacs. I am not so quick to do that, though, based on what I have experienced with her as a result of the allergy. When I go back to him, I will ask for permanent exemption. If not, i’ll ask the allergist for it. If all else fails, I will go the route of religious exemption.

      Reply
      • 5. Sarah  |  March 4, 2010 at 1:36 pm

        Let me now what happens! 🙂

  • 6. April  |  March 4, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    I would be interested to know what happens too! I have done lots of research on vaccines. Not sure which books you have read, but I found this one to be a good balanced approach

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0892819316?ie=UTF8&tag=wwwnviorg-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=0892819316

    Praying that she will have a good report from the allergist!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Etsy Shop

new Etsy.Mini(5673351,'thumbnail',3,3,1,'http://www.etsy.com');

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers


