On the Border!

March 15, 2009 at 8:48 pm Leave a comment

Found another favorite restaurant with an allergy menu!!  On the Border is one of my fave’s for mexican food so when I went online to check for an allergy menu – I was pleased to find they were on top of things!  I’ll be adding this one to my ‘Eating Out’ tab at the top of the page.

As I’ve mentioned before, don’t just take their word for it.  An allergy attack is too serious to just take someone’s word for it.  I printed out the menus for peanut-free, milk-free and egg-free.  Then, went over them with a fine tooth comb to see which items my daughter could have.  Then, I took the menus with me to the restaurant, explained to our waiter about my child’s allergies and had him double check the ingredients.  He wrote down my concerns, took them to the kitchen and came back to my table prior to ordering our meal and reassured me of the things I had specifically asked of him.  It was a successful dinner!  (And just in case, the EpiPens and Benadryl were right beside us in the booth.)  We’ll be going back there.

Free tip:  When eating at a restaurant that you aren’t very familiar with, go before the rush!  We like to go early – around 5pm – which makes it much less stressful on us and our waiter/waitress when we’re trying to convey our concerns to them.

Entry filed under: The Menu. Tags: , , .

Special Allergy Alert! Speak Up!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Etsy Shop

new Etsy.Mini(5673351,'thumbnail',3,3,1,'http://www.etsy.com');

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers


